OdySea Aquarium: Aquarium Curriculum

Guests of OdySea Aquarium follow the journey of a drop of water as it falls from the sky and gently flows into rivers and lakes, winding its way to the shore and down to the vast ocean. 

The Aquarium Curriculum follows this journey and is divided into seven sections with the following titles:

  1. Water
  2. Rivers of the World
  3. African Black-Footed Penguins
  4. Bizarre and Beautiful
  5. Hammerhead Sharks
  6. Coral Reefs
  7. Carousel of the Living Sea

Grade levels for students are divided into academic groups and curricular lessons: Preschool-Kindergarten, 1st-2nd Grade, 3rd-5th Grade, 6th-8th Grade and High School.

At each academic grade level, curriculum lessons are designed to meet the state standards and Next Generation Science Standards. Activities are aligned to the standards and include varied levels of difficulty. For example, in an academic group of grades 3rd-5th, there are activities designed for 3rd grade and others suited for 5th grade. Teachers may determine the activities that best meet the need of their students. Activities are flexible to accommodate special needs and gifted students as they may be modified for varying performance levels.

Many of the activities meet the STEM guidelines involving problem solving, investigation, using technology, integration of interdisciplinary instruction and inquiry.

Early Childhood, K-6, Middle School, High School, Educator
Preschool, Kindergarten, 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, 3rd Grade, 4th Grade, 5th Grade, 6th Grade, 7th Grade, 8th Grade, 9th Grade, 10th Grade, 11th Grade, 12th Grade

What are you looking for?


OdySea Aquarium

Website URL

Type of Resource

Lesson Plan
Resource Hub

Assigned Categories