National Wildlife Federation: Call of the Wild

Here’s a way for your kids to become familiar with the sounds some amphibians make and learn why they make them. They’ll also get a chance to hear (and maybe even see) some singing frogs in action.

1. For K-2, to understand the frog has 3 main stages in its life cycle—eggs, tadpoles, and frogs.
2. For 3-4, to understand the frog has 5 stages of development—eggs, tadpoles, tadpoles with legs, froglet and adult frog.

• Students will name each stage of a frog’s life cycle and give one defining characteristic.
• Students will listen to frog calls and be able to identify the sounds as coming from frogs.

Grade Level: K-4
Subject Areas: science and music

Time to Complete: 40 minutes, with 30-45 minutes for night observation

Science Topics
Frogs, Toads, & Salamanders
K-6, Educator
Kindergarten, 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, 3rd Grade, 4th Grade
Descriptions of PDFs

Download lesson plan and materials.

What are you looking for?


National Wildlife Federation

Website URL

Type of Resource

Lesson Plan
PDF File

Assigned Categories