Environmental Protection Agency: Criteria Air Pollutants

The Clean Air Act requires EPA to set National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for six common air pollutants (also known as “criteria air pollutants“).

These pollutants are found all over the U.S. They can harm your health and the environment, and cause property damage.

Learn how EPA sets, reviews and revises standards (primary standards and secondary standards), determines whether areas meet the standards, and works with areas to attain and maintain the standards.

Science Topics
Atmospheric Sciences, Pollution
Middle School
6th Grade, 7th Grade, 8th Grade

What are you looking for?


Environmental Protection Agency

Website URL

Type of Resource

Resource Hub

Assigned Categories