Environmental Protection Agency: Air Quality Designations for Ozone

The Clean Air Act requires EPA to designate areas in the United States after the agency sets a new National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) or revises an existing standard.

This web site provides information on the process EPA, the states, and the tribes follow to designate areas as “attainment” (meeting) or “nonattainment” (not meeting) the ground-level ozone standards EPA strengthened in 2015.

Science Topics
Atmospheric Sciences, Pollution
Social Studies Topics
Government and Political Science
Middle School
6th Grade, 7th Grade, 8th Grade

What are you looking for?


Environmental Protection Agency

Website URL

Type of Resource


Assigned Categories