Arizona Science Center: Ocean in a Bottle

Create your own ocean biome with this sensory bottle made with objects you may have around the house.

The ocean has five main layers that are known as zones: the sunlight zone, twilight zone, midnight zone, abyss, and the trenches. Closer to the surface, the water is warm and sunny, but the farther down you go, the colder and darker it gets. Animals that live in these zones have different adaptations that help them to survive. These adaptations could be larger eyes to see in the dark or chlorophyll to use sunlight as energy.

Ecology, Oceanography
Early Childhood, K-6

What are you looking for?


Arizona Science Center

Website URL

Type of Resource

PDF File

Assigned Categories

Description of PDF

Download this activity worksheet.