Click HERE to view the 2022-2023 Community Report

The University of Arizona: COMPLEX ORGANIC MOLECULES AROUND LOW- AND HIGH-MASS PROTOSTARS

Presented by POONEH NAZARI,   LEIDEN OBSERVATORY

ABSTRACT

Planet cores are thought to start forming around protostars where many complex organic molecules are detected. Therefore, understanding the chemistry of these species helps us understand the chemistry of the forming planets. There are already high-sensitivity studies of complex chemistry toward single sources. However, a high-sensitivity statistical analysis of complex organics toward low- and high-mass protostars is missing. I will show results from observations of these species around ~40 high-mass protostars. Moreover, I will discuss how physical conditions can affect the observations of complex organics and our interpretation of the chemistry using radiative transfer models.

 

LOCATION: HYBRID (LPL 309 & ZOOM)
—————————————————————————————————-

The Origins Seminar series aims to bring together ISM, star and planet formation people, exoplanets experts, planetary scientists and astrobiologists including topics from molecular clouds through star and planet formation to exoplanets detection and characterization and astrobiology.

The seminar series is organized by Serena Kim (SO), Sebastiaan Haffert (SO), and Chenliang Huang (LPL) from Steward Observatory/Dept. of Astronomy and Dept. of Planetary Sciences (LPL) at the University of Arizona. The Origins Seminar series is partly supported by the Earths in Other Solar Systems NExSS team.

During regular semesters, talks are generally from 12pm – 1:00pm (MST) on Mondays. 12PM Arizona Time (MST) = 12pm PDT = 3pm EDT = 7pm UTC. If you want to receive weekly updates and advertisements for talks, please subscribe to the mailing list.  If you are interested in presenting your work during one of the open slots (see below), feel free to contact the organizers: serena00@email.arizona.edu, shaffert@email.arizona.edu,  huangcl@arizona.edu

 

Visit the Origins Seminars YouTube Channel to watch past talks!

  • Audience: Adult
  • Genre: Space & Astronomy
  • Type: Hybrid (Online & In-person), Presentation

The event is finished.

Date

Nov 21 2022
Expired!

Time

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Cost

Free

More Info

Read More

Labels

Pima STEM Hub

Location

University of Arizona Lunar and Planetary Laboratory
1629 E. University Blvd., Tucson, AZ, 85721
Website
https://www.lpl.arizona.edu/

Location 2

Online

Organizer

Earths in Other Solar Systems (EOS)
Phone
(520) 621-0529
Email
eos.nexss@gmail.com
Website
https://eos-nexus.org/
QR Code